fbpx
Loading Events

« All Events

Virtual Event Virtual Event
  • This event has passed.
Aug 2

GPS Navigation Basics – By Request

August 2 @ 6:30 pm - 7:30 pm PDT

Virtual Event Virtual Event
GPS Navigation Basics

By request we are holding a second, “encore presentation” of this Mappy Hour, this time via Facebook Live. We'll be sharing the basics on using GPS apps on your smartphone to navigate and track your hikes.

We will cover:

  • How to download maps for offline use (and why that is important)
  • Controlling the layers that you see
  • Why you need to download more than just the trail you plan to hike
  • Conserving your battery and options for recharging
  • Route planning and navigation with the app

We will use GaiaGPS for most of the demonstrations, but most of the basics apply to AllTrails and other GPS tracking apps.

This “encore” presentation is being held on Facebook Live, and will be recorded. If you attend live, you'll have the opportunity to ask questions and get answers in real-time.

Join the Facebook Live on Tuesday at 6:30pm PT, 9:30pm ET here.

Details

Date:
August 2
Time:
6:30 pm - 7:30 pm PDT
Event Category:
Event Tags:
, ,
Watch

Organizer

Jeff Hester
Phone:
(541) 316-0419
Email:
jeff@socialadventures.net