Discussion Forums

Find answers, ask questions, and connect with hikers
around the country.

Homepage Forums Campfire Advice for "winning" the Mount Whitney Lottery?

• Advice for "winning" the Mount Whitney Lottery?

Posted by Jeff on December 6, 2017 at 11:35 am

Many challengers are using the Six-Pack of Peaks to train for something even bigger — like climbing Mount Whitney. SoCal Challenger @taralmyersms and her husband are hoping to climb Whitney in 2018 and are looking for advice on the lottery.

I thought I’d open it up to discussion. What tips or tricks do you have for getting a coveted permit to hike Mount Whitney?

Unknown Member replied 5 years ago 18 Members · 17 Replies
  • 17 Replies
  • Tara Myers

December 6, 2017 at 11:52 am

Thanks Jeff and everyone in advance.

• Denis Grigorov

December 6, 2017 at 2:34 pm

I've been to Whitney about 4 times so I'm not an expert or anything but my first advice is for you to check out the “Whitney Zone” website as it has a lot of useful information about the trail conditions, permits, etc. You can always ask questions there too, where hikers are pretty good about responding back to you.

http://www.whitneyzone.com/wz/