Discussion Forums

Find answers, ask questions, and connect with hikers
around the country.

Homepage Forums Six-Pack of Peaks Challenge™ Q&A Order of peaks list

• Posted by Erikafambam on June 12, 2024 at 2:56 pm

I’m a newbie to this and I’m a little confused. I got the list of peaks and there’s 12. Can we randomly select the peaks we would like to do or do they need to be follow in a specific order?

Jeff replied 2 months, 3 weeks ago 3 Members · 4 Replies
  • 4 Replies
  • Eric

June 12, 2024 at 3:40 pm

You can complete any six in any order you’d like. Although the original six were progressively more difficult.

I’m assuming you’re asking about the SoCal peaks. Check out socalhiker.net for some great trail write-ups on the original six if you haven’t already.

• This reply was modified 2 months, 3 weeks ago by  Eric.
    • This reply was modified 2 months, 3 weeks ago by  Eric.
    • Erikafambam

June 12, 2024 at 3:42 pm

Thank you my goal was to do all 12 of them, but just wanted to make sure if I needed to follow the list in its order!!!

• Eric

June 12, 2024 at 3:45 pm

All 12 is a great goal! Have fun!

• Jeff

Administrator
      June 12, 2024 at 7:24 pm

Eric nailed it.

The “original” six peaks were used to help me train for the John Muir Trail, and went in order of maximum elevation:

1. Mount Wilson
      2. Cucamonga Peak
      3. Mount San Antonio (aka Mount Baldy)
      4. San Bernardino Peak
      5. San Jacinto Peak
      6. San Gorgonio