Discussion Forums

Find answers, ask questions, and connect with hikers
around the country.

Homepage Forums Campfire What's on your day hiking gear list?

• What's on your day hiking gear list?

Posted by Jeff on March 29, 2019 at 1:36 pm

I saw an update from New England challenger Ally, who wrote:

“Hi All, I am a beginner at “solo” hiking, I have been on many guided hikes in VT, and smaller ones which did not need GPS. Do you recommend GPS for these? The trails seem clear enough. What would you recommend is a good gear list for a day hike, neutral weather? Thanks Much!”

I love comparing gear lists, and I’d love to hear what others carry. I’ll kick things off by sharing my list for long day hikes.

• Daypack – size depends on the weather. If I’m hiking in snow, it’s generally larger to handle the extra layers, gloves, hats, microspikes, etc..
    • Water – Again it depends on where I’m hiking and whether water is available along the trail. Most of the time, I pre-hydrate well before the hike, and carry 2-3 liters of water. I usually use two Nuun electrolyte tablets in one of the bottles, and alternate between water and electrolytes. I used to carry a hydration bladder, but lately I’ve preferred to take 1-liter Nalgene bottles (generously covered in Six-Pack of Peaks stickers, of course). 😉
    • iPhone – I make sure it’s fully-charged before I hit the trail, AND I carry a charging cable and an external battery (just in case). Usually I don’t need the batter for a day hike, but it’s also been really handy a few times. I use my iPhone X to take photos, record video, and record my hike using Gaia GPS. If it’s a trail I haven’t hiked before, I download the GPX tracks for the route I’ve planned, and I download the maps for the trail, plus a bit of the surrounding area.